The Power of Listing

A friend of mine told me about the power of the list. And you know what, I’m now a self confessed list-master. I reckon that the power of ‘The List’ is severely underrated, and we merely scrape the surface with a mish-mash shopping list on an old coffee-stained bank envelope. But I think that The List deserves a lot more credit.

Making a list (or Listing as I’m technically untechnically going to call it), can help you achieve all manner of goals. My list today consists of pretty mundane tasks. Banking, check. Buy new jeans, check. Supermarket shopping, check. But I’m thinking of spicing it up a little with some loud cackling, procrastinating, and some secret perving. The sense of accomplishment when ticking those babies off your list on completion gives you an instant high…. a listgasm if you will.

But, there is the potential to encounter a slight danger when listing – overlisting, which can lead to Listeria. You don’t ever want to become listeric. Open your eyes, check. Get out of bed, check. Walk to the bathroom, check. Trip over 1000 year old family cat on the way to the bathroom and curse loudly, check. Remember there are impressionable children in the house who are part-time parrots, check. Curse louder for cursing loudly in the first place, check. Once you become listeric, it’s hard to get out.

In the market for making a list? Well, today’s your lucky day. I have listing down to a fine art.
First, take a clean piece of paper, lined or blank. Take a black or blue pen. Write a title at the top of the page super carefully (preferably capitalised or underlined). Then, write your list. Extreme Listers like myself, perfect the list by making little check boxes at the start of each task. But it’s important not to rush that part. You want perfectly formed circles or squares, not polygons tripping on LSD. Then, when a task is complete, get a red pen and tick that box. Or if you’re an Extreme Lister, tick the box and cross out the task.

Some people get a little bit excited over finishing a task, and that leads to a form of Listeria. They start with a one-lined cross out. Then another line with a little bit of scribbling. Then in a fit of Listeric fury, they’ve cut right through the paper and made marks all over the desk.

Once you’ve ticked all of your boxes on a whole list, reached a listgasmic state, have a post-coital screwing up of the paper and biffing in the bin. Ahhhh, now you can sit down and get onto the next list….

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in plans. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Power of Listing

  1. excellientessory stuff.

  2. Fleur says:

    Now I am off to make a list!

  3. Tanya says:

    Ah Ha,
    I have a list that someone else created and I am ticking those off. Review for Biosciences in Midwifery and it is not that achievable, so I feel a severe case of Listeria coming on.

  4. Ngawai says:

    Well written my friend. I thought I was going to be the writer! well done. theres a hint of Nickie in there too. congratulations, you have a talent for it!!!

  5. Nades says:

    NJ – I love it!! Look forward to your many more entries to bring a smile to my dial

  6. shabu says:

    oh jeez yes i am such a list-maker… listgasm indeed!

  7. Heidi says:

    EXPLODE!!!!!!!!!!

    Write On……………..

    Never Stop – – – – – –

    XO

  8. Fleur says:

    Waiting patiently not so patiently for more!

  9. Heidi says:

    EXPLODE!!

    Write On…………….

    Thank You-

    XO

  10. Well, you will just have to be a little bit patient. Going to post one every few days 🙂

  11. Danielle says:

    Hi babe,
    Great! And you have always known that I am a list maker, remaker! I am adicted to list making, and you are so right about the sense of accomplishment you get when ticking off something tended to!
    Maybe we are all trained from a young age to like the sticker charts that we get in kindy!
    Lot’s of love,
    D

  12. Mum! says:

    You are on to it! Your blog has shades of the ‘to_it’, not the ’roundto_it’, but in a far more exciting and hilarious ‘to_it’! Go ‘to_it’…. Can’t wait for the next one….. xx

  13. Heidi says:

    Um &, does it count if we use our Listerene, to keep it fresh ? Lol! C we’re all waiting 4 your next log or I should say blog! Cant wait…………. waiting…. U Gal, u got talent, BIG BIG talent!
    xo

  14. michelle says:

    So glad to see you are putting that amazing hand to paper again …It is your calling.whatever you write is definatly worth reading,go to it ,my beautiful sister.xxxx

  15. michelle says:

    So glad to see you are putting your amazing hand to paper again.whatever you write ,people will read.keep it up nix,you will go a long way,my beautiful sister…

  16. Lisa says:

    Thats awesome:)

  17. Ebz says:

    I’m a list lover – so your post is cracking me up! You certainly have a knack for writing girl, I’m looking forward to your future posts…. Awesomeness 🙂

  18. stacey pyne says:

    you are hilarious!! iv just read all your posts and been pissing myself! xx

  19. Zan says:

    listgasmic?!!! Not sure if I’ve ever managed one of those… my lists (too numerous to count) taunt me, atleast one thing never gets done. Maybe I should be more thorough when ‘listing’ and carefully leave off the things I know I have no chance of acheiving that day… although I will be scheduling in a stare down with my frequently crapping, sandpit soiling feline. Maybe I’ll add the hiss/growl/claw manoeuvre too – what do you think?

    Love your work. Laughed out loud, and did it so badly (out of practice) my husband thought I was crying. See you Friday… xx

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

