The World’s Not all about Cocktails

I’ve discovered wine and have a positive, yet perfect and rewarding relationship with it.
I casually select a sav blanc in the grocery aisle.
It winks back at me and says “How you doin’?”
It eyes me up, as I cruise around the supermarket looking at cold cuts of meat and says “Hey baby, is that us tonight?”
I say “Yeah, if you treat me right.”
We go home, hand in bottle. It chills out for a while.
I pick my moment wisely, put on some Barry White and say “Let’s dance.”
Mr. Blanc is stoked, pops out of the bottle and into a glass. I sip away. I know how to treat it, and it definitely knows how to treat me.

You see this relationship of wine and me, me and wine is pretty much new. We’re in the honeymoon period. I haven’t always chosen a slender bottle with a full body. I was a cocktail and spirits girl….. and completely in denial. Occasionally I’d have a beer, but only as a shandy or if I didn’t know any better at 2am.

A good friend encouraged me to take the plunge. “I’ll leave this bottle of wine in the fridge, and just have a taste every night.” A few sips here, a few sips there…. and I’m getting the hang of it.

Not only is it economical, but it makes me giggle. And that’s always a bonus in my books. It also helps that my place is a little bit perfect for a vino in the warm afternoon sun.

So gone are the days of being mentally tortured by mistakenly sipping a glass of wine instead of water, at age 3, but hello to the world of super clinks and cheersing in the sun!

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in shopping, wine and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The World’s Not all about Cocktails

  1. Tanya says:

    I feel like you wrote this one for me 🙂

  2. Nades says:

    Wait til you get onto the red stuff, you dont need to waste anytime chilling in the fridge, just straight into – bliss!

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

