Take the Time to Hang out with your Grandparents

God was thinking of a special breed of people to inhibit this earth. He threw down some seeds and out popped grandparents – probably walnuts, because they’re kind of wrinkly. If you’ve got one or two…. or even a collection of them, consider yourself lucky.

I was blessed with a Nana who took her teeth out for comedic effect, a Grandma who made me banana fritters and tiger milk and a Poppa who I found out at his funeral was part of the local naturalists club. No wonder he bought home a different girlfriend every Christmas.

My Nana was and continues to be my role model. I feel incredibly lucky to have her name as a part of mine. I loved spending time with her. Learning her tricks and jokes that were always followed by “And don’t tell your Mother I told you that.” It was like we were in a special club. She’d make me laugh and I would hang out with her in hopes of becoming the ‘favourite’.

I later gained a new set of grandparents. Upon meeting them, Nan smiled in only a way that grandmas can smile and Koro managed to translate place names into English that happened to be male and female genitalia. I was now their token whitey.

You see, grandparents can get away with a few curve balls of cheeky jokes and random rudeness. They’ve seen a lot in their lifetimes, and are not afraid to say it as it is. I aspire to that.

So take the time to have a cup of tea with Grandpa Joe and chew the fat. Because you never truly appreciate what you’ve got until it’s gone.

This blog post is dedicated to my Koro, who recently passed away.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in family, memories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Take the Time to Hang out with your Grandparents

  1. Nades says:

    Nicely put NJ – never a truer word spoken xx

  2. Shelley says:

    Ahhh the memories 🙂 Don’t ever stop blogging NJ!

  3. michelle says:

    Hard to forget our grandparents….nanna jean as my fav…I miss her alot,but she is always around when you need her,thanks nix ,dont stop writing.you do it so well,xxxxx

  4. Kel says:

    🙂 goosebumps

  5. Pingback: Whisky Tastes Better with Age « Awesome Moments of my Life

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

