Awesome Quotes to live Your Life By

Quotes – we use them because we have to at uni in our essays, or to make ourselves look philosophical and intelligent. Some are all-rounders that are well-known, some obscure and undecipherable, and some are just plain crap.

But there are a few little gems out there. Pearls of wisdom that just make sense. I’m not trying to play God on this and say these are the only supreme ones ever made, because I am sure there’s a truckload more. I’m just going to indulge you with this selection.

One of my first quotes came from my cartoon-watching youth. Not only was ‘Eek the Cat’ a hilarious cartoon, but he also said “It never hurts to help,” on numerous occasions before being bowled over, knocked down, and accidently sat on by his fat girlfriend. Twenty-odd years later, it still reigns true.

Empire Records was the movie that defined my adolescent years. I wanted to be in that movie and live happily ever after working in a funky record store with cool people. Incidentally, it was sprinkled with many fabulous quotes. Subsequently my adopted live my life by quote was “Do not regret the things you have done, but those you did not do,” when I was 18. I used it to give an explanation to my extreme extroverted and random behaviour. I’ve watched the movie again recently and found that I love the “Who knows where thoughts come from, they just appear,” quote.

My Nana always had a few beauties tucked up her sleeve. Most of them were insanely funny like “They’re off said the monkey as he got his balls caught in the chaff cutter,” or “Neat but not gaudy said the monkey as he painted his bum red, white, and blue to go to the funeral.” As I write this, I’m seeing monkey related themes going on here. However, her most significant is “It’s nice to be important, but it’s more important to be nice.” So, so true Nana…

My most recent fave comes from the TV show 30 Rock. Jack Donaghy says to a crowded auditorium “We all have different ways of coping. I use sex and awesomeness.” When I was watching this episode, I was on the verge of sleep. I came to when I heard this, and was crying from laughing. Then I wondered if only I could ever say something that kick-ass…..

I’m going to finish this blog on a list of awesome quotes that my late husband used to pop out randomly, with excellent delivery and timing…..

“What have I told you about thinking… it will get you into trouble.”
“Any day is a good day that I don’t have to wear pants.”
“I like girls. I married one.”
“Cougars, everyone deserves a second chance.”
“Would you rather have one big nostril, or no upper lip?”

This blog is definitely dedicated to and in memory of my late husband, who has inspired me to start writing in the first place.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in life, memories, quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Awesome Quotes to live Your Life By

  1. Fleur says:

    I would love to put an awesome quote here but it is too early in the morning and Iam late for school.

    ‘NJ, You are Awesome’ – Quote F Clarke

  2. Joy says:

    love it! ahhh. Empire records….. I don’t know how many times I watched that!

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

