Life is Way Too Short

At a time where I should be celebrating three years of wedded bliss and a decade of happiness, I find myself mourning yet reflective. These past few months have been an experience in finding myself and appreciating life, as my husband’s life was suddenly taken away.

You see, I think it’s too easy for us to get stuck in a rut. Living day to day dripping with mundaneity, and complaining about the most insignificant things. When we really should be making the most of each day and appreciating its worth, along with how awesome and valuable we are as individuals.

In an ideal world; we wouldn’t be greedy or jealous, we would treat each other as we’d want to be treated ourselves, and I wouldn’t have just burnt my toasted cheese sandwich for lunch. The reality is that life’s not fair, but it is the way that you own it and learn from your experiences.

I have learnt, and am still learning a lot about what it takes to be me as a single entity. I am doing things I never imagined I would, and a few things I shouldn’t (like drinking wine from a water bottle). Because the reality is that you never know when it will be your last day.

So for the past few months, I have been:

– Living life a little on the edge and outside of the proverbial box
– Not caring about how other people judge and portray me, as long as I am true to myself and not hurting anyone else
– Going with the flow, some of the best laid plans are the ones that aren’t planned at all
– Laughing uncontrollably like the old Reach toothbrush ad with the flip-top head
– Taking the time to let my family and friends know how much I appreciate them
– Keeping in touch with family and friends
– Making a bucket list and checking it off

So just be thankful for who you are. Continue to endeavour to be the real you and make the most of this precious thing called life. Because there is no-one else like you, and you are awesome.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in life, plans and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life is Way Too Short

  1. Nades says:

    Well said NJ xx

  2. britt says:

    you’re the coolest nickie jean! xxx

  3. The One & Only - Mother!! says:

    I am continually proud of you and your courageous outlook on life. Out of all of this horror, you have taught many people how to handle the adversities in life. And yes, you are one beautiful daughter, whom I feel very honoured to be your Mum. xxxx
    Today / tomorrow will become a yesterday on Friday. You can do it…. xx

  4. arnna says:

    some good lessons there, and important to remember every day. thanks for the wakeup call. x

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

