The Little Pleasures

I feel the need to take the time to give thanks to the little things in life that make us smile. Lately, I’ve been stopping to smell the proverbial roses and am drinking from a glass half full. Although I think that sometimes we need a little bit of reminding.

When each day is the same as the next, it’s because people fail to recognize the good things that happen in their lives every day that the sun rises.

(Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist)

The other day I was walking along the beach with my cousin. It was a picturesque setting, with water that you want to put your hand out to touch, but don’t want to in case you spoil the smoothness of it. The wet sand was a mine field of pipi popping up to wave to us as we traipsed past in our own private shellfish parade. The seagulls kept to themselves as they yawned and stretched in their little morning yoga group, and a crab carcass actually smiled at us.

A few evenings ago I was sitting in front of the tele and painting. I was about to make a duller version of a kiwifruit green, when I squirted out a blue and yellow blob onto my wooden palette. I had to take a second look as the yellow blob had two eyes and a mouth. I smiled to myself and took photos of it like I had just seen a celebrity out on the street.

I remember several years ago when I was about to turn 21. I was at uni and broke, and sometimes a meal would be a batch of damper with jam. I had gone to the bank to extend my over-draft and they had denied me. I drove home feeling sorry for myself when I witnessed the most unusual thing. An old man was pulling out of a T-intersection in his car and was blissfully unaware of a cat that was clawing on for dear life, surfing the roof of the turning car. I double-took the cat-astrophy of a scene and cracked up to myself.

It’s those little things that really make me stop and smile. From watching an awe inspiring sunrise and checking that off my bucket list, to being told that I look pretty.  I am truly grateful to be here.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

