Everyone Has a Signature Dish

I was preparing a casserole this morning, to simmer away all day in the crock pot. I was in unfamiliar territory and being experimental, but the cooler weather was screaming for me to have hearty meals in the evenings. As I was chopping and dicing, this blog came to mind. There’s nothing quite like having a firm grip on a cold carrot and gliding a peeler in even strokes downwards to get the creative writing juices flowing.*

Sometimes it’s exciting to just put together some ingredients and hope to hell that it will at least be edible. Bonus points if you can think ‘this aint half bad’, while chewing. Like the time I made scones with the addition of cocoa powder, dates, golden syrup, mashed banana, ginger ale and sour cream.

I believe that everyone has a signature dish in the kitchen, even if it is boiling water. You can’t really screw that up.
“Honey, I just boiled some water.”
“That is perfect boiled water darling.”

And that you associate certain dishes with certain people. My sister makes some heavenly strawberry jam, my mum makes fabulous Yorkshire puddings and for the sake of my cousin’s is primo at making custard squares (I’m sure whenever they picture my mum, they see an image of a stick figure with a custard square head). My aunty makes a mouth-watering bean dip, my Grandma would make sweet banana fritters and tiger milk, and my cousin makes a mean moofie (a hybrid muffin cookie). I really could go on, but that would be an exercise in torturing my taste buds.

I like to think I’m not that bad when it comes to culinary skills in the kitchen. My style can range from Gordon Ramsey to the Swedish Chef from the Muppets. There was a time when I couldn’t for the life of me drain pasta or rice without emptying half of the contents into the sink and yelling out profanities. The response would be a giggle emitting from the lounge. I learnt my lesson and now use a colander, because I’m clearly not clever enough to use a saucepan lid like my mum does.

So there seems to be signature dishes and associated dishes. A signature dish that you know you’re good at and an associated dish that other people think of when they think of your cooking. I’m hoping that my associated dishes aren’t disasters and don’t include pieces of macaroni that have been seasoned with floor.

*I am not responsible for any rude imagery that comes to mind. As far as I am concerned, I am the innocent party.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in memories, passion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everyone Has a Signature Dish

  1. Tanya says:

    When I think of you, I think of that “stuff” with the marshmallows and yoghurt. You are good at that stuff.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

