Stuff You Look Forward to

Right now I am inside, practically hugging my heater. It’s not even winter yet and my nose is ready to detach itself for a vacation in Rarotonga. My eyelids want to stay closed, so they can be a blanket for my eyeballs and my finger tips are jealous that my toes can’t type thus being exposed to the crisp air (I just wrote ‘thus’, have I stepped back in time 30 years?).

I figure that there are moments like these when you just really look forward to some things. Like right now, I am looking forward to piping hot bangers and mash for dinner, and summer (so sad to see it go).

Here’s some stuff I look forward to:

–          A long, hot bath on a cold winter’s night.

–          Scooping out the contents of the first feijoa of the season, and spooning it into my salivating gob.

–          Being the recipient of a bear hug when you really need one.

–          Climbing into an immaculately made bed with freshly laundered sheets and pyjamas.

–          A Saturday morning sleep-in.

–          Your favourite meal being dished up in front of you.

–          Completing a whole list of things to do, ripping it up and dropping it in the rubbish bin.

–          A dress-up party, when you have an awesome costume to go in.

–          When friends come around to my place to visit.

–          Being hooked into a TV series that you have to watch every episode.

–          A cold beverage on a hot day.

–          Taking home a newly purchased item of clothing, only to secretly try it on with combinations of already existing outfits and shoes.

–          Hanging out with my nieces and nephews, because they are awesome.

–          Sleeping in my own bed after being away on a road trip.

–          Sitting around the fire place drinking milky hot chocolate with over-sized marshmallows when it’s chilly outside.

I used to look forward to my birthday, but then you get older. When you’re young, you want to get older. When you are considered young, but don’t feel like it, you want to stay the same age. And when you’re older, you just want to be younger again. Funny that you always want, what you can’t have. Kudos to anyone that is happy with their age right now.

So cheers to the stuff that we look forward to. It makes the crap stuff seem insignificant, and makes it all worthwhile.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in life, Randomness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

