It’s Time Negative Nancy Met Positive Patty

Sometimes I wonder about the downbeat nature of the world where the inner Negative Nancy escapes your soul and turns rainbows into downpours. Where ‘silver lining’ has been sold out months in advance and apparently won’t be back in stock. Where it’s almost popular to be disapproving…  How did we get to a place where shelling out your 2 cents is breaking your bank, scraping your barrel or leaving you worse off?

Last week I went to the last ever Big Day Out concert in NZ. After 18 years, it had blown the last party hooter in the bag. I was given a ticket – Wohoo! And went for an Awesome Day Out with my friends – Wohoo! Every person I spoke to post-concert (who did not go themselves), commented on the lack of people that went. My response was simple. I had a great time, with great friends. I got to dance right up front to some great music. There were small queues (if any), for drinks, food and the loos. And I got to jump around in foam up to my hips – Wohoo! There was actually a lot to ‘Wohoo!’ about.

Have you ever noticed how the weather gets a bad wrap for being itself. In winter it gets too cold, in summer it gets too hot. When it rains, it’s too rainy. When it’s windy, well… you guessed it…. it’s too windy. Being too windy can be great for sending your farts off into the distance where they belong, but when someone comments “It’s windy.” It usually comes with a forehead raise. Not because they are concentrating on sending their farts off in the right windy direction, but because the wind is doing what it supposed to do.

The traffic when you are trying to get somewhere in a hurry always slows you down, the mail gets wet when it rains so your precious bills that you adore receiving are soggy, the birds tweet too early, the freshly scooped ice cream is too drippy, the makes you spend more time playing it…. It’s quite time consuming, isn’t it.

It’s ok to exercise your inner bear and ‘Grrrrrrrrrrrrr’ once in a while…. it’s only human, or bearly. But sometimes I think it’s time to turn that frown upside down. The traffic jam may mean that you get to hear your favourite song on the radio, ice cream running down your hands allows you a free reign at licking your paws or chasing after someone else with scary sticky fingers.

Become a Positive Patty and enjoy what you’ve got, because you will end up loving what you receive.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in humor, humour, life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Time Negative Nancy Met Positive Patty

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

