Taking the ‘Glamp’ out of Camping

My post-Christmas tent purchase had been sitting patiently in its box, in the boot of my car. Every time I lifted the trunk, said tent tried to wave at me. Albeit just smiled, because it had been restrained like a straight-jacket with plastic ties. I felt mean when I did the grocery shopping and there was Tent, waiting like the last kid to be picked for the class <insert painful primary school sport here>.

My first attempt at letting Tent loose was met with torrential rain. Tent didn’t need to be scarred for life with intimidating weather behaviour. So Tent lay in wait until a suitable weekend came to the forefront.

Tent was packed with Pup Tent and Nearly Ridiculously Huge Beast Tent; as me and two friends crammed 3 days worth of camping into our wagon of choice – Black Beauty. We had a tent each, like our own rooms in a sectioned off outdoor house.

Upon arrival at remote forest meets beach location, Black Beauty was opened and the contents jumped out. Tent and Huge Beast were sneakily hidden by mischievous owner of Pup Tent. 3 in a pup was not going to cut it, but Tent and Huge Beast emerged unscathed. Maybe it helped their canvas relationship.

Tent promised me 4 men. I was mislead because by the time it was set up, filled with my bags and a bed was made, there was no space for 4 men. Only if 4 men were a family of pint-sized people who happened to be rake thin and had no inkling of personal space.

Even though Tent lied, I was still excited. I hadn’t really been camping properly since Zinc was my preferred sun protection and Mum’s perm complimented her towelling drawstring jumpsuit.

My first night I had a made an amateur mistake. I had forgotten to lower my front flap leaving me at the mercy of bears, lions and sleepwalkers. I may have exaggerated… The only beer was in the chilly bin, the only roaring was from restless tots over yonder and I was actually protected by inner flap. Nothing like a bit of two flap protection.

The camping expedition was taking it way back with a high rotation of eating and sleeping. We slept because we had either been reading, eating, walking or had our eyes open for a concentrated amount of time. But we were in mutual agreement of that being a fricken wicked idea.

Even though the sun was masked in puffs of clouds and it felt like the camping neighbors were conversing inside my tent when I was waking up in the morning, I had a great time. Tent had promised me great experiences and it along with my my friends, delivered.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in Camping, holiday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

