What’s up with the World?

I was going to write a post about The Olympics, but then I got side-tracked by being mad… really angry and upset.

To begin with, my Olympics blog was really a query into the human psyche. Like how we can all gather and excite for one of the greatest sporting events… together, unified… as one. It’s enlightening and emits warm fuzzy feelings, as we watch the strength of the human spirit and show pride for our nations and ourselves as humans.

But as we walk side by side in a ceremony, compete together and congratulate one another for stellar sporting achievements, how can we continue to fight and destroy each other? Even take another’s life? Over the weekend, New Zealand not only celebrated winning gold medals, we also lost two soldiers in Afghanistan. This is a devastating tragedy and my heart goes out to their families and friends. Both New Zealand and Afghanistan are currently representing their best athletes in London, at the Olympics.

While researching for what was going to be an interesting blog about the Olympics, I was side-tracked by Google and its ability to dish up the past. I began googling my late husband’s name for reasons that only I will ever understand. Then I found something that made me really mad and I shook and cried angry, hot tears.

Some person from New Zealand (the place I call home), decided that it would be a great idea to post an ignorant and racist comment in response to an article written about my husband’s death… and then someone else agreed with it. To date, this has to be one of the most appalling and hurtful remarks I’ve seen posted about Mr T. I couldn’t believe that a stranger had the audacity to write something so awful and full of hatred about the nicest, humble and most loving person I have ever known, whose life was unjustly taken from him… from me.

I can’t understand how one person can display such unjustified hate and from behind the shield of a computer screen. The words cut deep and sliced open raw scar tissue… and then I realised why we are still at war. Our differences; what makes us unique and individual, what makes medal-winning athletes and what makes hate… our ability to free-think and voice our ideas and views. While this is a beautiful aspect to humanism, it can also be very harmful.

Where is the love for our own, the treat others as you’d like to be treated yourself… the respect?

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s up with the World?

  1. Pingback: There’s Nothing Like Home… « Awesome Moments of my Life

  2. Donna says:

    “our ability to free-think and voice our ideas and views.” Yes, our ability to free-think and voice our ideas and views. Now there’s something about which to think. People, and when I say people, I mean individuals with the ability to handle the “free-think” idea, are generally good people. Respectful, giving, and kind hearted. BUT……we will always have those individuals who can’t handle the “free-think” idea and be hateful because, well, they just don’t qualify as people. It’s that simple. I’m sorry for your hurt and I know all to well how words hurt. I pray for you to try and find peace again dear.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

