The Thinking Chair

There I was this evening, on my beach walk; long enough to blow out the cobwebs, short enough that I didn’t keel over and collapse.* I was walking and walking and listening to Trinity Roots then De La Soul; trying to rattle my brain and think, trying to lose myself in the music and not think. A mish-mash of confusion over whether I should be thinking or not thinking, walking and walking and walking some more until I saw it…

My thinking chair…

Up there, on the rise – a chair where I like to sit and well, not think… just stare. Stare at the beach and The Mount and listen… to music, to the sea, to the salty sea air. So I sat down on one side of the bench in memoriam of a 27 year old guy, the same age as when Mr T left, and let Terence Trent Darby sing ‘Holding on to You’, to me. It took every iota of self-restraint to not join in with Terence, because really, I am not God’s gift to singing.

I like my thinking chair. I have a couple of others scattered around the place that I also claim to own for personal reflection. It’s not so much that I sit with the intention of solving the world’s problems; it’s more that I sit, draw in a deep breath and relax. Then epiphanies appear or gut instincts kick in and answers have some kind of clarity. Sometimes my thinking chair just lets me be and I come away feeling better.

Then I get up and walk off without even thanking my thinking chair or saying goodbye. And it just sits there and waits patiently until next time. Do you have a thinking chair?

 

* I actually undid all my hard exercise work when I got home, by eating spoonfuls of condensed milk until I felt sick. Let’s just blame the love of c.m. on genetics.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in beach, life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

