A Battle of my Wits

On Sunday I lost my self-belief and my faith under the guise of past personal experiences. I had misplaced it for 1.5 days and was struggling to find where they were.

I searched for them everywhere; in positive quotes, favourite music, at the top of a hill climb, at the bottom of an expired Nutella jar… my friend even tried to help me hunt for them. I just kept looking and looking and hoping that I could find them again.

I was angry at my world for its past and annoyed that I couldn’t get back on track, that I was walking down a path and I didn’t know where it was going. But I tried really hard and I fought back with an attack from the deepest ventricles in my heart, with an assault of self-love and belief… belief that I could get through this.

Sanch, your words kindly popped into my head when I needed them most (they must be opportunists): “You haven’t been given anything you cannot handle.”

This morning I pulled back the curtain and smiled at the note I had written to myself when I was 27 hours into the slump.

Battle won. Well played self x

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in lessons, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Battle of my Wits

  1. shrinkmuch says:

    Boy have I been through the wringer these past few weeks….this post totally spoke to me. Thanks for writing it 🙂

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

