31 Years of Thanks

It’s Thanksgiving this week in the US and even though I have not been privy to be a part of such wonderment, which appears to be a veritable feast in how much can one stuff themselves until it’s time to repulsively undo the belt buckle releasing the beastly overhang and slinking back into your chair groaning with food coma pleasure. I feel like I am missing out, like I have FOODMO.

But I feel like I am also missing out on that lovely picturesque movie scene of families in knitted sweaters, smiling through gritted teeth and holding sweaty hands, getting their chance to stand up on the soap box and say what they are thankful for.

I really want that opportunity to say, ‘Hey, this is what I am thankful for!’ So here goes a pent up 31 years of stuff that I am thankful for:

My amazing family and the equally as amazing one I have acquired, all of my nieces and nephews that I love to pieces, my mum and dad having sex that one time to produce me, having spent as much time as I did with Mr T and all of the awesome memories that we shared, to give stuff a go when I really thought I couldn’t, laughing out loud, having different laughs that sneak out whenever they can, travelling to my bucket list locations and still more to come, having an education including one from the University of Life, listening to music that comes on at the perfect time, fabulous friendships from across the globe, discovering that I can write and that people actually like to read what I have written, stationery stores where I can’t move from excitement, being creative, having quirky ideas, summer concerts, Youtube for providing me with an endless source of laughter at random stuff, photographs, learning new stuff, gorgeous high heels, positive thinking, having goals and dreams, ticking items off my bucket list, baking and licking the bowl afterwards, being able-bodied, being born and brought up in New Zealand, having awesome childhood memories, fancycocktails with cute little umbrellas, random ideas, getting married in Las Vegas and laughing so much that I couldn’t say my vows, costume parties, enjoying food, the little things that make me smile, sweet treats, compliments and confidence boosts, colours, bad jokes, being passionate about stuff, the beach, when things fall into place, having a stereo in the car so I can turn it up really loud and lose myself in the music, dancing like nobody’s watching, the people who have helped me out in anyway, to have experienced true love… this list could go on for a while…

But most importantly, I am grateful to be here; living and breathing and alive. To which I will always be truly thankful to Mr T, for being brave and selfless. To whom I owe my life.

What amazing stuff are you thankful for?

Mr T & I on our Las Vegas Wedding Day – July 4th 2009. How could you not be thankful for the awesomeness of this day and the outfits?

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in bucket list, humor, humour, life, memories, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 31 Years of Thanks

  1. A Las Vegas wedding would be the ultimate. So loved the photograph. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. ❤

  2. Rachel says:

    An awesome list of thankfulness! You are amazing, as always xxx

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

