Fake it ‘til you make it Monday’s

It’s Monday morning and instead of being boohoo, I want to be wohoo! Because there are a lot of wohoo’s that can put a boohoo in its place. So instead of sinking into a hole of sadness from a mixed bag of: Dad’s cancer, to the woes of finding work and the throbbing new purple appendage on my leg that I have affectionately named ‘The Beast’; I glammed up my morning by slipping into some fancy heels for the long walk from the bedroom down the hall to the office.

Yesterday I was so happy to be part of something inherently amazing; a world record attempt at skinny dipping. I was officiating, not participating; standing with a sign amid a sea of running Gonzos, beavers and melons. The emphasis was taken off any crudity of nudity and placed on the fun of running in the sun showing your bum. Even though the record wasn’t quite achieved, we left the beach to the optimistic tune of ‘we’ll get it next year!’ It was fantabulous to see all the nudie rudies come away smiling and saying that they’d had a great time. And wouldn’t it be awesome if the masses of spectators decided that it looked like so much fun, that they should join in too!

I also got to spend time with my best friend (with a baby button rapidly growing in her tum), her partner and talkative toddler. I love that I can mong out with her and we can nut out the nitty gritty stuff without worrying about a thing, getting life’s perplexities off the chest and into perspective. Her partner (under the influence of National Crate Day), recommended that I would be able to find a bloke at the weigh in of a fishing competition and could potentially score a catch by commenting on the guy’s exceptional fishing skills. Given that I know jack all about fishing, I could probably only manage a paltry ‘nice rod’.

I was instrumental in helping my family to gain its first ‘duck’ in the evening quiz. As the guest Quiz Master, I hid behind the couch to deliver the 0 out of 5 result. But instead of a throwing tomatoes disappointment, we laughed at our inability to know that Frankenstein’s author Mary Shelley creepily kept her dead husband’s heart wrapped in silk and it was agreed that this would be an awesome platform to get a better score next time.

I’m also uber excited that I have plenty to look forward to, like: weddings to attend, moving back to the beach, the summer concert season, my little big brother coming home for Christmas, eating Copenhagen Cones for dinner, adding to ‘NJ’s Awesome Advent Calendar!’, planning to cross off more bucket list items, a new year, having bikini beach days, road trips, camping, writing my book, reading my new favourite blogs… the world is my oyster!

AND today I am totally taking a leaf out of Mr T’s book by wearing no pants.

How do you fake it ‘til you make it on a Monday?

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in good intentions, humor, humour, life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fake it ‘til you make it Monday’s

  1. Geoff says:

    I absolutely love the mentality. No Pants Monday definitely needs to be a thing. It would certainly make getting coffee in the morning more entertaining. Can’t think how to start a week off better than that.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

