I Heart Tuesdays – My Guide to Instant Lift Therapy

If there ever was a time to make yourself feel better about yourself, now is good. I know that when you are feeling less than human and more of an ogre or a slug, then it’s really hard to think of something to turn you back into your stately prince or princess self.

So here are some quick tips and tricks to help get you there:

Paint your nails a pretty colour.
Wear your favourite outfit around the house.
Take some time out and go for a walk.
Write a genuinely heart-felt note to a member of your family, or a friend, letting them know how lovely they are. If you can, post it or leave it in a place you know they’ll find it.
Youtube something hilarious, that will make you snort laugh; like funny cats or a baby monkey riding a pig.
Look at silly photos, from when you were a kid.
Have a coffee or a cocktail with your friends.
Meditate.
Talk to kids and ask them questions about life. Their responses can be hilarious or quite thought-provoking.
Make a wish and see what happens.
Set a goal. Make it achievable and believable.
Choose the location of your next holiday and then start making plans to go there.
Daydream.
Help someone out.
Give a genuine compliment.
Walk down the street like you’re in a fabulously foreign location.
Put on your fave song of the moment on and turn it up loud.
Plan a fab meal to celebrate you, trying out a recipe you’ve always wanted to try.
Ring, text, email or tell your other half that you love them. If you don’t have a significant other, text or email yourself.
Turn your favourite quote into a pretty piece of inspiring art and hang it on the wall.
Go to your nearest playground and hop on the swings, pretending like your five again.
Organise a date with yourself and enjoy being in your own company.
Lie under the stars and make wishes.
Zone out and doodle, like when you were a teen talking about nothing in particular on the phone.
Buy yourself a present for being present.
Smile because you are you!

What do you do when you need an instant lift?

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in happiness, I Heart Tuesdays, life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Heart Tuesdays – My Guide to Instant Lift Therapy

  1. strawberryquicksand says:

    I clean my house. While I HATE cleaning, I know that I will feel a zillion times better when actually sitting around in a CLEAN house not a dirty one that has been festering for weeks on end. I also go out and treat myself to a coffee or a Japanese bento.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

