I Heart Tuesdays – The Art of Escapism

As I write this blog, I’m sitting at sunset with a chilled Marlborough pinot gris in front of me; my lip print has already made its mark. The boats line the marina, the house aloft the hill is illuminated in the day’s last breath and the sassy jazz twinkles in the background. I’ve created my escape.

I simply needed a break. I believe that everyone deserves some uninterrupted time to themselves; whether it be an hour curled under the covers with your nose in a good book, a solo beach walk, listening to your favourite album with the door locked and phone switched off, a trip to the movies with a bucket of popcorn to yourself, or a cappuccino with a slice of cake at your favourite cafe.

If you’d like to take a leaf out of my book: Spontaneously decide on Sunday evening that you’re going for a mini vacay on Monday; choose a place that you haven’t been to since you were a kid and/or comes with recommendations; book accommodation for one night (and once you’re there, book a massage); make some seriously cool road trip CDs, pack, get in the car and go. While you’re driving, crank up your freshly made music mix and sing like you actually are amazingly good at it. I swear my singing was much to the pleasure of the bulls in the paddock, just passed Whiritoa.

If you think that you cannot possibly afford the time or the money, I urge you to change that thought right now! I believe that you can always allow the opportunity to look after yourself. Choose something that makes you feel happy to be alive (away from the computer or internet is even better). Clear your mind and feed your soul. After all, it really is guilt-free and for me. Go on… say it loud ‘Guilt-free and for me!’ You can do this. You can achieve this state of bliss.

Let me know how you create your escape.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays, lessons, life, living the dream and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

