A Fab Weekend at the New Zealand Blogger’s Conference

Froddo cocked his head and smiled at me as I closed the door and I knew that my weekend was drawing to a close. Froddo is a dog, a brussel, and I secretly think that he’s either been pissed off or curious that I’ve been here this weekend.

I’ve just returned from the first New Zealand blogger’s conference, in Christchurch and was billeted into a lovely home in Lyttleton where two excitable brussels, a lovely quilting blogger from squiltz, and her lovely husband reside overlooking the port and hills. I’d taken over the teenage son’s bedroom while he was away for the weekend. I hope he doesn’t mind my long moulted girl hair on the floor and the remnants of Victoria’s Secret Mango Temptation spritzed across the room. I couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay for the weekend.

The weekend was a great success. Meeting other bloggers from around NZ who are on the same wavelength with an understanding of what blogging actually is and why we do it (which still sometimes elicits a tilted head reaction from strangers when you mention being a blogger; mouth agape and a bit of drool rolling down their chin when you try and explain the awesomeness and power of blogging). There was a lot of learning, a lot of laughter, a lot of creativity, a lot of coffee drinking and a lot of chin-wagging… so there was also a lot of listening to be done, too. I think I chewed enough gum during the week as a pre-jaw workout for all of the talking that happened to jump out of my mouth.

I got to meet the vivacious vixen from our tiny landscapes who had twisted my rubber arm via email to jump aboard and come on down. She happened to press all the right buttons; you know… laughing wildly at all the right times and telling me I was amazing. What a truly scrumptious darling! And I met a bunch of other fabulous woman who I wanted to package up and put in my suitcase to bring home so that we could have daily ‘coffee ‘n chat sessions’ about everything and nothing in particular.

And my oh my have I fallen in love with Christchurch… I absolutely adore the awesomeness that is arising through the rubble, born from adversity and just oozing positivity. If Christchurch was a man, I think I’d date him.

So to the darlings that planted the seed of the conference idea and nurtured it into the beautiful bloom, thank you for setting a great precedence for years to come! And I’m sure Froddo, along with his brother Domino are happy to once again have the undivided attention of their owners.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in Christchurch, humor, humour and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Fab Weekend at the New Zealand Blogger’s Conference

  1. Lisa says:

    Awesome to meet you NJ! What a great weekend… hope your flight back to the bay was smooth. Catch you soon, Lisa x

  2. I love your quirky writing style, what a beautiful blogger you are.

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Yay, so glad the conference was a success. Happy Blogging to YOU.

  4. Hi NJ, I didn’t get to actually meet you, but I have been looking through everyone’s blogs since returning home and like what I read. Look forward to following your journey.

  5. Sophie Slim says:

    Im so happy I follow your blog now, you’re such a great writer!! I giggled so many times while reading this 🙂

    I’m glad you had such a good time! Wish we had talked more, but then I wished the weekend never ended so that was a possibility. Instead, I’ll just be happy that I had all the little chances that I did get!

    Thanks for being so brave and joining us xxx

    • stuffnjsays says:

      Thank you for having me! I loved it like a big bunch of flowers delivered on your doorstep. Can’t wait to make a massive cup of tea and dive into some serious blog reading!

  6. Max says:

    I’m hopeless with names, and since i cant figure out from your photo whether we yacked at bloggers connecting or not i’ll just say i hope we did/i shoulda because your blog is making me grin from ear to ear. Love from your newest follower x

    • stuffnjsays says:

      Aww thanks Max. In an ideal world, I would have had a polaroid camera to instantly pop out pictures and write names underneath. I’m terrible with remembering names at the moment!

  7. Alex Fulton says:

    Hello NJ and sp happy to have been stuck in a car with you – it was the start of something lovely. Great to have you on the blog list – my new fav and best!
    Alex x

  8. Tartankiwi says:

    I love the way you describe the weekend and I love that every photo that I have seen with you, you are laughing! Have you seen the photo booth photos yet- hysterical!

    • stuffnjsays says:

      Thanks! I have seen the laugh-a-thon pics… I’ll start getting a rep now 😉
      Thank you for your awesome present and name badge (it sits on my typewriter, smiling at me).

  9. Miriam says:

    If Christchurch was a man I think I’d date him… love it! Me too. I love this city. So cool to meet you – lovely hilarious woman

  10. offsquare says:

    Was awesome to meet you NJ. You sure know how to light up any room you’re in and I love it! Also nice to meet a fellow WordPress user … go you xoxo

  11. Your catwalk strut in Winnie Bagoes was one of the weekend’s highlights! I think we had a quick “hi!” in passing, but that definitely wasn’t enough! Consider yourself stalked x

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

