I Heart Tuesdays – What Motivates You?

Hey you, my friend… I was wondering, what motivates you?

Last week I was running (again, yes! My glutes are well strengthened and my hips aren’t screaming or embarrassing). It was that beautiful time of day, pounding along the rocky shoreline with a splash of orange in the sky, taking its last gasp for the day. The wind was beautifully blowing my hair and any beads of sweat were glistening and I was glowing (or so I kept telling myself), and thoughts crept into my head as they tend to do.

I was thinking ‘What motivates you NJ? What makes me wake up in the morning and smile?’ It didn’t take long for my mind to start yelling answers back. Since I’m bloody lucky to actually be here, thank you Mr T, that in itself is great encouragement; knowing that I’m alive. I’m also inspired to do my best, to be my best, to live my best by Mr T. Even though I’m officially a widow, I still want to make my husband proud and live for the both of us. That doesn’t mean that I have discounted my personal goals, it just gives me extra drive to succeed, and it’s just nice to know that he’d get a kick out of it, too.

One of my greatest achievements at the moment is my fitness levels and that keeps me wanting to do more. While I play sports, while I run, while I climb; I push myself to do the best that I can and knowing that I have the ability to do so. And just recently, my motivation to stick to my goals is through the loss of my fitness buddy last week. Climbing The Mount a ridiculous amount of times in succession from now on will be bittersweet, and knowing that he’s not there to join in will make me work even harder.

Other things that keep me going are:
My family, my friends, my goals, my bucket list, travel, music, life, hilarious youtube videos, and the want to be a better person.

What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

So my dear friend, I’d love to know… what motivates you?

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Heart Tuesdays – What Motivates You?

  1. Gary Lum says:

    Currently, I’m motivated to keep working so my daughters get through school and get a decent head start in terms of their education.

  2. Alex Fulton says:

    Well you do sweet chicken! Meeting you added to the ‘good people’ army I have around me. Friends are my sisters, my mothers and my mirrors. They pull you up when you are down and refresh you when you need a lift. I love the different form that friends take and the roles they take on. So thanks for your writings and go you. You are inspirational!

    • stuffnjsays says:

      Awwww Alex, you are sweeter than a vanilla cupcake with white chocolate frosting!
      So glad we got stuck in your car on the road to nowhere in particular! x

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

