Stuff I Love About Winter

Winter… the days seem darker, the nights are cold and that chill can whip right through to your bones and make you want walk around in an electric blanket suit. I’m not the biggest fan of freezing, or rollin’ around wrapped up like the Michelin man and squinting out of some peep hole on my tightly pulled hoody strings. Where is your face? Is that the end of a sausage, a cat’s crack… no it’s a cyclops, silly!

Anything’s better than bitchin’, so here’s my list of why I love winter:

Hibearnating under a mountain of blankets (see what I did ‘bear’), to the point of question. Is there a person under there? No, no, just a pile of big old blankets.
Wearing flannelette winter pjs or an over-the-top onesie to bed. Someone please sponsor me a rabbit onesie with ears and a fluffy belly!
Mooching around in track pants, thick woolly jumpers, hoodies and Ugg boots.
Wrapping yourself up like a ninja, when you go outside to play.
Popping those ultra-soft fluff-ball socks on and not being embarrassed at all.
Hot chocolates overloaded with marshmallows, using the mug as a hand warming device.
Sinking into a long, hot bath and laughing at the beard you’ve made of bubbles.
Having a communal bathe with your mates and soaking away your worries at the hot pools.
Lounging in that sweet spot in front of the fire. You know the one, not too close where your face is all burny burny and not too far where your back is an ice block. Pretty much slap bang in the middle where everyone else walks around you, giving you the silent stink eye.
Rainy days curled up on the couch reading a fab book. Or better still, snugged up in bed turning pages, without a care in the world.
Thick soups, heart-warming lasagne, succulent roasts, apple crumble!
Hugs that could melt the snow.
Snow! How could I forget snow? I have to drive to the mountain to get my fix, but it’s worth it when the flakes lightly kiss your face.
Walking along the beach because it’s such a seasonally out of character thing to do.
DVD days & crafternoons.

I’m all warm and fuzzy now, ready to take on winter with a kapow!
What would you add to the list?

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in humor, humour, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stuff I Love About Winter

  1. Gary Lum says:

    My favourite thing about winter is escaping to Darwin and enjoying the weather there 🙂

  2. Pingback: Shopping for… Winter Woollies | memories & dust

  3. My tea drinking definitely increases during the Winter and I use the hot mugs as hand warmers too! Why is “roasting marshmallows” not amongst this? Or are you sitting too far from the fire to do so? But closer enough to not burn 😉

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

