I Heart Tuesdays – See me at the Crossroad

I am at a crossroad. There is a signpost with a whole bunch of nameless signs and a bunch of roads going off in directions in which I don’t know the destinations. But I am not scared, I’m excited about which path I might take, however scary those first few steps may be.

I guess it’s kind of like one of those ‘choose your own adventure’ books from your childhood. I actually always appeared to take the path that ended suddenly, so I lost interest pretty quickly and put the book away. I didn’t like choosing my own adventure because there seemed to be a dumb ending of nothingness. I wanted a clear, well-lit path to stroll down with butterflies and candy flowers like in Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory.

The reality was that there were stones that I tripped up on or holes I’d fall into and sometimes I looked down at my stubbed toes and cried out loud wondering why I was always the one stubbing my toe and why does it hurt so damn much? Then I wondered why I have toes, because they always get stubbed. And then I begrudgingly accepted that without toes, I’d be way out of kilter.

And then one day I looked up from the path that I was walking down and saw the sunshine and flowers and my toes didn’t hurt so much anymore. That I come across forks, t-intersections, roundabouts and traffic lights and that I get to choose which way I want to go, I get to choose my own adventure.

So here I am, at my crossroad with the scars healing on my toes wondering which path to take. I trust that I’ll make a decision that I will learn along the way and that there will be pretty scenic vistas to look at, with tons of yummy candy blooms!

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays, lessons, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

