Stuff I Have Learnt Lately

Sometimes I have good ideas, sometimes they turn out to be bad… and that’s bad as in not good, not bad as in bad ass (I wish), and sometimes learning experiences are thrust in front of you like the family cat leaving half a bird with its brains eaten out as a present for you, on your doorstep. Oh how kind, you took away the brains.

There’s nothing quite like starting the morning with hot porridge, green tea and a TED talk.

There is such a thing as animals being jerks. Youtube it, laugh and nod, then laugh some more. Then realise that your cat pissed in your handbag out of pure feline jealousy (true story, not my cat nor my handbag).

Painting your toenails in winter is only a good idea if you want to lose sensation in your feet for the afternoon. The varnish is red and the feetsies are blue from cold. Pretty.

However, pulling over at the beginning of a road trip en route to a party to paint your fingernails is a fricken awesome idea.

Books about writing aren’t boring. Thank the literature gods for Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.

Writing daily entries into a gratitude diary makes you feel amazingly awesome.

I cannot keep pot plants alive. I really want to and you’d think with age, that the gift of a lovely wee plant in a lovely wee pot would make my maternal flora instincts kick in and I’d be able to nurture them and let them flourish and photosynthesise. The reality is that if you give me a plant, you are sending it to plant cemetery. And I can’t afford the mass production of tombstones for leaves that I’ve lost.

Flies are so ballsy that even though it’s winter, there are one or two tough guys lurking around. In fact, there’s one watching me right now. Watching as I type with all of its eyes in those two big eyes. Sigh. Flies are also creepy.

I opened Candy Crush out of curiosity and now I realised I have opened the Pandora’s Box of Bermuda Triangle time escapism.

There actually are people out there who are as random as me. Really! I know, I have met them and had conversations that happily go off on tangents without either person raising a disconcerted eyebrow that arches with a ‘you’ve got a whole factory of screws loose’… just smiles and laughter in a bubble of awesome randomness.

I love how every day, there’s something new to learn. What randomness have you learned lately?

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in humor, humour, life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

