I Heart Tuesdays – Saying Goodbye to the Sunday Slump

For those of you who work a full-time Monday to Friday job, Sundays* can be well… quite hideously daunting, like your life is going to end the very next day. Cue the dramatic child whining: Nooooooooooooooooooo……. Mondayyyyyyyyyyyy……. OooOOOOoooooooooOOOooooohhhhhhh (you know the kind of Ohhhh that is drawn-out with different tone inflections. I’m surprised that my mother didn’t wear ear muffs as part of her daily outfit).

The weekend is like only having two chips in a packet, when you are really craving chips. The break is never long enough, is it? You want to gorge yourself on that beast of weekendly goodness. I found that when I was working a traditional week, Sundays would come in either a haze of hungoverness or with as much dread as marching off to a school exam on algebra (I was only ever good at doodling pictures and writing notes in my math books about important sh*t like trying to wangle my way off to concerts).

I was having a sneaky ninja wine (it was supposed to be a coffee, but then the wine glass snuck into my hand), with a friend a couple of weekends ago and we were talking about the Sunday Slump. The dread, the pain, the agony that tomorrow you’re going to cut off your own leg that is Monday. Ugh, bleh, meh and gag. Then we sat there agreeing that there are all of these precious hours expended poo pooing the inevitable that hasn’t even happened yet. Wasting hours on hating on what’s to come.

Where is the logic in that? Why not be living in the now of a Sunday of awesomeness? It’s the similar effect when you know that your holiday is drawing to a close and you turn all moany and blah-ry at the prospect of it ending when you totally could be squeezing every last drop of goodness out of it!

So we decided over our 3pm sauvingnon blancs and petit desserts that wouldn’t it be grand to have something to look forward to every Sunday? A wee treat before the week starts. Ideas were tossed around charismatically in the air like an hour to yourself reading, a nana nap, movie night, a coffee or wine with friends… oh the possibilities! Now isn’t work eve starting to sound fab?!?

So dive right in my friends and give Sunday its awesomeness back. What Sunday Slump stopper have you got in mind?

 

*If you don’t work a traditional work week, swap your bad-ass Sunday out for the last day you have off.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays, life, living the dream and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

