I Heart Tuesdays – Being Here, Now

I sit down to have a cup of tea. The weeds need pulling, the washing needs to be folded, the windows need washing, the car needs cleaning… what’s for dinner? The cupboards are empty. Hey, I haven’t been on facebook in half an hour, wonder what’s going on there? It’s time I caught up with… I haven’t returned… I shouldn’t have said that….. that… that was 4.75 years ago.

What I didn’t realise is that the cup of tea is perfectly warming my hands on this cold winter’s day, that the sun is delicately draped across my legs like a homemade blanket and that…. Oh gawd… the weeds… they need pulling. Sigh.

I’ve been doing a lot of research lately about happiness. Well maybe not a lot, not in a scholarly kind of way. More like a leisurely watching TED talks over my morning green tea kind of way.  There’s a commonality, a thread that seems to bind this together this whole wondering about happiness and what it is? The how do I gorge on it just to get it inside me? And what does it mean?

The wandering mind; the kind that has a gazillion shoes in the closet to put on, lace up and go off in different directions. Down the roads of past irks that pop up and up the paths of things that you should be doing right now instead of enjoying that cup of tea. Funny isn’t it, sometimes where you physically are, is not where you are present at all.

The penny drops into my mug and the plip of water jumps up and taps me on my hand. I look down and it reminds that I am here right now, enjoying this moment, this cup of tea. Just me and the tea.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

