I Heart Tuesdays – The High-Fiving Boy

Tonight I walked up The Mount; straight back into it after the tropical holiday cocktail-athon. Straight back into ‘reality’ (which I refuse to groan at that word because I am quite fond of my ‘reality’), straight back into some fitness (which I also refuse to groan at), and straight back into trying to figure out where to place my feet in the next steps of my life.

I was nearly at the top, when up ahead I could see a mop of curly hair bobbing up and down, with his arms and legs wrapped around his mum. His palm was out at the ready.
“High five!” he said to everyone in passing.
And as I passed him on the steps, he smiled and said “High five!”

I tapped his hand and carried on ascending, grinning, realising that this kid had the right idea; high-fiving to life at any opportunity. I lifted my chin and noticed the sun freckling through trees, its rays outstretched. The branches tickled my shoulder and the cool air whisped passed my face. High five, high five, high five.

So here’s to life and all its high fives! Whether they are big all small, obvious or subtle; they are there, waiting for you to smile and high five back.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays, life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

