Flattery Will Get You Everywhere

Fashion had never really been my thing. I like to wear stuff that is not a carbon copy of every other girl walking out of that one shop. I like original pieces, one-off pieces, op-shop pieces; anything that is a little bit different or out there and will suit me (I hope!). And then I like classic stuff that is an investment and will take me through a couple of seasons. I try not to buy into fads. 

I adore; exquisite tailoring, outfits that stand out, trying on something that’s a bit different and it ends up being amazing on me, ridic fab shoes that have a voice of their own, trying on expensie* things and then doing the justify and buy, and mixing things up a little.

I am however, a little bit gammy at accessorising.

But what I really get blown away by is genuine compliments on my outfits especially when I have been accused (yes accused) of looking like a cowgirl or a schoolgirl at various workplaces (when I had no intention of saddling up nor going back to class). I’m totally not letting this affect my style self-esteem.

So you can imagine my surprise when I was walking down 5th Avenue in New York and a shop assistant commented on how wonderful my strawberry skirt was that I was wearing, or being stopped several times in the SOHO district to point out how cool my cream lace mini-skirt was.

And then yesterday, I walked into my local boutiqueist high fashion boutique, Sisters, and while slightly amazing from a couple of delicious pinots from the night before, got told that I was looking very stylish with my big bowed scarf around my neck.

Imagine my pure utter surprise at having some kind of fashionista j’oie de vivre! Those compliments smiling at me because I have managed to pull off an outfit that someone thought was worth saying something nice about. Now that’s enough to feel great on the inside and out! Hmmm… turns out I may not be so gammy at accessorising after all.

 

*This is not a typo. I’m just trying to make ‘expensive’ sound less like money is painfully jumping out of my credit card and more of being a little bit cute.

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in humor, humour, shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

