32 Random Acts of Kindness

This year I had decided that I didn’t want any birthday presents, that turning another year older was a gift in itself. So the only way that I could celebrate 32 years of awesomeness was to do 32 random acts of kindness leading up to the anniversary that my mum popped me out.

I was actually surprised at how nervous I got, before I was about to perform a RAOK. Ideally at times I wanted to slip right under the radar, like when I bought the next person’s coffee (that wasn’t even in line yet). I was hoping my takeaway mocha had taken me away by then. But the guy was so stoked that he came over and personally thanked me.

Other times I had the people behind the counter so grateful for what I was doing, or in absolute disbelief that I’d given up my free coffee card for the next person or that I’d shouted a stranger their soak at the hot pools.

Not all of my RAOK involved opening my wallet. I wrote notes and helped strangers out off the cuff. Don’t get me wrong, I generally love to help others’ out, but for me this personal little challenge was to see how far I could go and turn it into more of a habit. I really do believe that an act of kindness gives you an intrinsic motivation to be a better person.

The thirty-two random acts of kindness may be over, but it’s not… really. It’s given me that extra bit of oomph to go that little extra bit. And I have learnt that when you ask for no birthday presents, they still come in abundance!

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 32 Random Acts of Kindness

  1. Pingback: The Hair Cut | Stuff NJ Says…

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

