When Life throws you Lemons, Find the Car Surfing Cat

I remember when I was at uni and broke as a joke. I spent money on the important things like clothes, Kristov vodka, and 3am hot chips. I was overdrawn, had zero sensible budgeting skills and approaching my 21st. I’d just been to the bank and no, they were not going to give me extra money for nothing. Whaaaattttttt????!!!!! Frivolity was my frenemy.

I left the bank feeling sorry for myself and drove back to my flat. On the way I witnessed something absolutely ridiculous. A little old man driving a little old car pulled out up ahead. On top of that little old car driven by the little old man was a not so little old cat, holding on for dear life. Its paws were stretched across toward the four corners of the roof and I swear I could hear its claws digging into the metal, while it surfed its way down the road. The driver was oblivious to his hitch-hiking companion.

I couldn’t see the miaower’s face, so I’m not sure if it was having the time of its life or if one of its nine lives was flashing before its life; but I laughed. I laughed so hard that the tears that were about to roll over my hardship were falling for hilarity at this situation.

I learned something that day. No matter how hard everything seems, there will always something to make me laugh. My wee theory has been tested to its greatest capacity and I have still managed to find something to chuckle at or let out a half-hearted smile to at what have been some of the crappiest times of my life; that I still have my sense of humour.

I will laugh when I drop cooked rice all through the sink when I am straining the water out of the pot, I will laugh when a kiwifruit seed accidentally squirts into my eye, and I will laugh when a cat surfs a car.

Have you ever managed to laugh, when the chips are down?

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in humor, humour, laughter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

