I Heart Tuesdays – You Just Have to Believe

“It always seems impossible until it’s done.” Nelson Mandela

When I was a kid, I wanted to be an artist. I was good at drawing and this was validated by my peers in my classroom. I wanted to keep drawing because through their justification I was good enough at something. I had a purpose and that was to provide bubble written titles to my peers for class projects and draw the occasional Simpson character.

For a short stint, I wanted to be a farmer because for a snippet of my life I could get up early in the morning and feed my pet calf. I occasionally helped feed hay to the cows in winter and let the calves suck on my frosted fingers. When I did realise all of the hard work that went on, my idea of traipsing thick grey marle woollen socks covered in hay through the house to the bedroom, to take a midday nap just like my dad so lovingly role-modelled, were over-thrown; super ceded by a need to not be up at the crack of dawn, covered in speckles of cow sh*t, or possess the glamorous summer gumboot tan.

At sixteen making a career choice is hard, I had no clue, but Mum said I’d be good at teaching. So I got that degree and it took me to places that I could never have imagined and made some very awesome lifelong friendships along the way.

And then I started writing; born from a random idea several months earlier. I didn’t think I had any ability whatsoever but it has in fact shaped up quite well, leading down other career paths and this blog still going strong. Who would’ve thought?

I now have new ideas and dreams for the future that utilise my past, because I believe that everything that has happened to me in my life, has brought me to this point; right here, right now. My whim for whimsy through producing art is pursued through my creative passion of letting words dance on paper, my penchant for being a strong bad ass female farmer comes through in the strength of my spirit, and the teaching is ever present in my desire to help others.

My dream is now to embark on a journey that I never thought possible, with goals that I want to check off along the way. But I know this will happen, because I believe. I believe in myself and my abilities which will make something that sometimes is seemingly impossible, possible.

I believe that I will achieve.

 

 

 

 

 

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

