Some People call me Lucky

After spending the week wondering ‘what if?’ last Friday I booked my tickets to go. For half a year I have been pining over living in Italy. I have never been and I don’t know anyone there; but there has been a pull, an attraction that I cannot shake. The seed had been planted and was deeply rooted in the ‘life dreams’ part of my brain.

Why not?
I should do it while I can!
In ten years’ time I might be married with kids, I’ll kick myself if I don’t go.

I started telling people. I began researching. I did a Teaching English as a Foreign Certificate. I applied for jobs. I networked. I wondered if this would actually ever eventuate. And then I had enough of waiting; waiting for things to happen, waiting to live my dream.

So in a flurry of hyperventilating and adrenalin, I booked those tickets. I paced the house; shaking, crying, laughing uncontrollably, calling people.

What have I got to lose?

I am leaving in a month, via a California road trip en route to a Las Vegas hen’s party. The reactions have been mixed.

“Oh my gawd!!!”
“There are no jobs there.”
“You’re finally doing it!”
“You’re brave!”
“You’re so lucky!”

It’s the last line that gets me. As an individual, if you were to look at the past five years of my life, you would consider me far from lucky; tragedy has had a way of sneaking up on me far too many times. But what I do feel is blessed, blessed that I know that I have choices and I choose to be happy. I choose to live a life filled with gratitude; knowing that I want to make the most of my time here, to make my dreams come true, to be true to myself, and to sometimes just take a giant leap of faith… Ciao Italia!

So I’m giving it my best shot. I’m setting out in the world once again. I figure that what will be will be, and I know that I will be ok with that. If I end up back home in a year, I know that I would have given it my all and if I do end up finding that perfect job, come and join me for a vino under the Tuscan sun!

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in living the dream, moving to Italy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Some People call me Lucky

  1. makeitgiveit says:

    Good for you. I hope the adventure is even sweeter than you’ve dreamed x

  2. I am heading to Ireland (for a holiday) in late Sept, I shall message you prior and maybe I can make a trek to Italy and we can catch up. Have fun:)

  3. shrinkmuch says:

    There is nothing like a Goonie adventure 🙂 Hope it’s everything you hoped it would be and more!

  4. oh this just smells of adventures ahead! two thumbs up for ya, girl.

  5. Holly Bruce says:

    That is SOOOO cool! I have a deep dream to live or visit Italy one day. Feel the culture, eat the food. Oh, the food. Live with the people.

    I took an Italian language course once, it was SO much fun and such a fun language to learn. One thing I instantly remember how to say is, “mi scusi, uni bere per favore.”

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

