I Heart Tuesdays – Embracing the Moment, Everyday

There is something intensely wonderful about travelling, about seeing the world with eyes wide open and mouth agape; learning, growing, understanding, being, experiencing  gratitude… longing for more. Whilst dining out on a sun-kissed piazza, biting into a mouthful of fresh fromaggio e rucola tortellini, melted burnt butter sauce with notes of honey dripping down my chin; I came to realise that this was dolce la vita – the sweetness of life.

What made that scene so decadently gratifying was the enjoyment of being, there and then. I was alone, on a seat that rocked on the cobblestones, surrounded in an armour of Medieval influenced architecture, in the quaint beachside town of Sportino-Noli, Italia. I had picked something from the menu that could only be read in Italiano, and hoped for the best. Usually a food scoffer, the fork took its time to reach my lips. Each parcel of tortellini was a joy to experience.

But this is not real life, NJ… that was you… travelling… embracing the moment.

That was true, that was me encircling my arms and hugging the pieces of globe-trotting goodness. Sucking the essence out of the bones and absorbing the nutrients; things I had learnt, things I wanted to take home.

Was it possible… possible to exist as my traveller self, in my everyday life? Could I revel for at least one slice of each day? Time does seem to squeeze through an hourglass with each grain of sand marked ‘full’.

Five, ten, thirty minutes… an hour, perhaps?

An investment of time is feasible, time spent on me.  I can curl up on the couch with a cup of tea, I can climb into bed half an hour earlier and read a few pages from my book, I can listen to some of my favourite music while I’m in the shower, I can sit still and meditate, I can head out for a walk and look at the pretty flowers along the street.

It is possible to don my holiday outlook each day. I don’t need to be sitting in an Italian piazza to enjoy the moment; to learn, grow, understand, be, to experience gratitude… when there are so many chances to do that now. There is always an opportunity to embrace.

 

 

 

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

