I Heart Tuesdays – The Quote that Stopped Me

With all of the information in the world, with all of the print we are drenched in, with all of the media that is competing for our attention, with all of the social images to share and blogs that speak right to our hearts…

Yesterday, a little window was unlatched and I kept it wide open, letting the light shine in.

I soaked up its essence. I wanted to roll in it as a pig does in mud on a scorching summer’s day. I wanted to wear it like a new jacket that hugs in the accentuated curve. I wanted to savour each letter like indulging in a mouthful of rich and creamy mud cake.

I appreciate words, especially when eloquently strung together as lustrous pearls are threaded to a necklace; a paragraph, a chapter, a book. But when the simplicity of a sentence resonates and jumps aboard my blood vessels to surf around my entire body, my heart experiences happiness. My brain stops thinking about the yesterdays and the tomorrows, and I am inspired.

  

 

“We are our choices.”

 

Jean-Paul Sartre

 

 Four simple words, five syllables; one quote that quietly speaks louder above the rest.

This doesn’t happen as often as you’d think. Once, I had spent 20 minutes in my favourite café with my soy mocha growing cold, mulling over Viktor E. Frankel’s line about whatever you’ve been through, no one can ever take that away from you.

Through the saturation of social media quote art, there are sometimes ones that talk right to you; like there is no one else in the crowded room. They are poignant to you at that moment in time, and you are allowed to pick them up and let them nestle in – carrying them around, for as long as you need.

“We are our choices.”

What quotes speak loudly, to you?

 

 

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

