I Heart Tuesdays – A Lesson in Finding Happiness

What makes you happy?

If you come up with a billion and one answers, or there about – Congratulations! I love it! If you’re struggling, let’s just start with one; because that is like grabbing the door handle in a darkened room and turning the knob. The light peeks in, and as you continue pushing the door, more brightness radiates upon you, and you glow from its warmth.

Let’s start with the basics; something general, say ‘music’. Music makes me happy. Great! That’s the first step! Can we stretch that a little?

Music.
Music makes me happy.
Jazz music makes me happy.
Old school jazz music makes me happy.
The saxophone sounds in old school jazz make me happy.
The sound of a smoky saxophone, on a cold winter’s night, makes me happy.
The smooth yet vibrant tones of a smoky saxophone whilst I’m curled up on the couch in front of a roaring fire, on a bitterly cold winter’s night, makes me happy.

Can you see where I am going here? When we start off simple and then begin decorating the description, we can visualise and feel it. When you feel something, you believe it.

Give it a go, for yourself!

When you wrote and read your final descriptive sentence, did your mind drift off into your imagery? Or did you feel your mouth curl into a smile?

I love hearing pieces of other people’s bliss.
Tell me: what word did you start with and where did it take you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

