I Heart Tuesdays – Revenge is Sweet?

I have a sweet tooth. You know the kind of sugary taste explosion that comes with a bite into a slice that oozes caramel, or the warmth that a well-executed butter cake brings with icing dribbling goodness. And don’t get me started on Whittaker’s creamy 5 rolled chocolate – one bite transports me to somewhere glorious.

I also love the sweet little moments in life. I can’t help but smile when I see an elderly couple strolling along a promenade, holding hands. Or when babies smile and giggle. Even watching the sunset, summer or winter, I’ll take that stunning moment and revel in it.

Sweetness is a lovely feeling, filled with joy and warmth. So when I hear ‘revenge is sweet’, I wonder how can that be? The possibility that because someone had done you wrong, they will subsequently suffer. How can that feel sweet?

This is a circle that keeps going around. If every person who had ever done something wrong were to experience revenge, then when would the need for bad things to happen, end? My same sentiment exists for ‘Karma/payback’s a b*tch’. That wouldn’t really be a breeding ground for a whole lot of love and forgiveness, aye?

For me, revenge tastes bitter, and that’s why I won’t take a bite from it. Yes, I’ve had life moments that would render the need for such, but then it would intrinsically change my being and I know that any gratification gained would be fraught with ire and malice. I’m not sure how that would help me keep a positive frame of mind. The flavour of the cake would change and the sunset would be like any other day.

Would you share a slice of forgiveness, with me? I think it tastes so much sweeter!

 

 

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays, life lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

