I Heart Tuesdays – Uniquely You

If I had put a dollar into a jar for every time that I couldn’t look at myself in the mirror, the jar would be heavy. I would be harsh and tell myself that my foibles were gross imperfections and negative tones ate all of the space in my brain. I wore that solid coat… until I glimpsed at myself in a different light.

At first it was barely a whisper of a smile in a dull reflection. Then it was a grimace through gritted teeth. And then I started laughing at the awkwardness of it all. It took a lot of training; repetitious actions of faking outward happiness. The thing is, that one hint of a smile leads to a celebration of self. That peek of shining light gently opens the doorway for gleam to beam.

A while ago I used to think that I was worthless and a waste of space; now I know that that thinking was worthless and a waste of space, because I view myself in a different light. What I know now, what I believe now is a wonderment of adjectives used to describe my unique being and that my presence is important.

Your presence is just as important as mine. You are a wonderful human, too!

The trick is that this positive thinking about yourself has to come from you. Your inner words create who you are. Be encouraging of your awesome self, even if it’s one optimistic word at a time; because that is how it all begins. And no matter what anybody else thinks about you, it’s what you think about yourself that counts because that is who you truly believe.

Be your own advocate, one sweet encouraging adjective at a time. Watch your self-esteem grow like wildflowers in the summertime. Love uniquely awesome you x

 

About stuffnjsays

I'm NJ, and my life motto is to maintain happiness and be true to myself. I love to write, travel, laugh out loud, and be awesome! I believe in making my dreams come true, and using my life experiences to help other people. Check out what I'm up to, here: stuffnjsays.com
This entry was posted in I Heart Tuesdays, life lessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Take your shoes off, have a cuppa tea & leave your comment here:

